Thanksgiving Goodies (Weekly Update Week 2)

This week was crazed! As I’m sure yours was ~_^. We made Thanksgiving dinner then the next day we went and ate at my grandma’s house where my cousin and her husband made a fabulous meal.

It was so great to spend time with family. It was a week full of opportunities to show the boys some life skills. They got to mix cookie batter and learn how to clean up for family (it’s always a good bit more detailed cleaning when you clean for others, isn’t it?) and we also had them set up to learn how to fold clothes today.

I am really happy with the way things are starting to feel. When we first started with school, I was really depressed and so sure that we would give up in less than a month (and believe me, I’ve considered it). I just know, for sure, that this is what we are meant to do and I want to follow through with it.

I was afraid that it would be too hard with a newborn. It has been difficult, to say the least. There have been many tears on my part, but I think we’re slowly easing into ~ not exactly a routine ~ but an understanding of each other. Schoolwork has to be done. Period. Or back to school they’ll be in January. I did not take them out of school for them to regress and act like they’re the ones running the show.

We cleaned out all the summer clothes this week as we have had wayyy to many days where we needed long sleeved shirts and couldn’t get away with just a short sleeved shirt recently and brought out our winter stock and shifted sizes for those we needed to. With 5 boys, this is a constant job. Our oldest could use some new things so I hope to hit the Hope’s Closet up the road to find him some. (Hope’s Closet is a bit like the Goodwill stores where they take donations and sell them for charity work. They use their profits to help women and families of domestic violence.)

We built a K’Nex roller coaster today and started some rock candy experiments. Our youngest toddler only broke the coaster a few times (I’m sure you can relate there!!) but overall it was a huge hit!

image

Our newbie has just blossomed overnight it seems sometimes and other times I know these changes have taken shape over the last several weeks. He’s been smiling and cooing and sta crting to giggle a bit, but now he is crying to be held so he can be snuggled while he does all three at once. He just grins and talks for 5-10 minutes at a time and loves to hear our voice. It makes me warm all over to see the smile in his eyes. There’s nothing like knowing that you’ve made a baby feel as safe as you possibly can.

What didΒ youΒ do this week that was fun? Did you get hit by the local turkey coma specials? I hope you had a great time with family and enjoy your week!

Leave a Reply

